top of page
Writer's pictureMeghan Hirst

Historic Smithville Park - Part 2 Wildlife

Updated: Jun 26, 2021

Reviews and videos of the wildlife here are available on Tripadvisor and YouTube!

Blue Herons Hanging Out, Green Heron Fishing, Chipmunk Scurrying Around, Red Dragonfly Sunbathing, and Skipper Dragonfly Resting. Photos by Nature Photographer Pam Hirst at PKH Photography. Writing by Freelance Content Writer and Travel Blogger Meghan Hirst at Meghan Hirst, Writer.


My mom and I love the wildlife at Smithville Park so much that we are going to present it in two posts. Part 3 will be about the Butterfly Garden <3


This park is actually designed to showcase wildlife. Overlook and observation structures were placed strategically in areas where a lot of animals dwell. A whopping one-hundred fifty bird species live here! It is easy to spot them during all seasons. The most common large bird species seems to be the blue heron, as my mom and I have seen them almost every time we have gone here. In fact, we have never perceived so many in one place before.


Other species of wildlife can only be viewed during certain seasons. Fowler's toads bounce around in spring. Red, skipper, and green darner dragonflies dart around during spring and summer. Cottontail rabbits hop around during winter. Here is an amusing story: a toad crossed the trail right in front of me when I was walking with my best friend XD It startled me a little because I did not see it coming. I wish I had taken a photo or video!


Something to remember: watch out for skunks! My mom saw one scurrying towards her while she was taking photos one time :O She got out of that area FAST! Skunks are more energetic during February and March. They are nocturnal but sometimes venture out of their dens during the day.


We cannot wait to present the Butterfly Garden next!


What is your favorite species of bird?




51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page